learning tech · Programming · Python · tech careers · tech jobs · technology

Always look on the bright side of life.

And we’re back.

I’ve moved on to the next section in the Python class via Codecademy. Seeing how things are starting to come together and how all this information can be used is exciting. I wasn’t doing cartwheels over the Tip Calculator, but it did work as a great way to show practical application with the skills they taught to this point.

You are on notice Codecademy, I am expecting to want to do cartwheels at some point. At the very least, just one.

The assignment was simple it just used variables and math. Super simple, a little too simple, but it got the point across.

I want to take a quick second to mention that Codecademy has an IRC channel. What’s IRC? What’s a channel? Glad you asked.

IRC stands for Internet Relay Chat. Now I know you know what the Internet is, you’re using it, and I would hope you know what chat is because of texting. Without having to go into great detail IRC is a method to communicate with other people in a text based format. You will love it, your geeky nerd bits will explode with the happy.

It requires you to download and use an IRC client, log into the freenode server and then go to the Codecademy channel. This sounds like a lot of work, but it’s not, and it’s worth it to gain access to a world of people who can help you with your questions. As a bonus, I use IRC, and that means you would actually talk to me aside from just reading my witty titled blog posts that amuse me and probably only me.

Does everyone in tech use IRC? No, but you should know how to and just think of it as one more thing on your ever expanding list of skills.

Back to the lesson. I now know how to set a variable and do math to calculate a tip on a meal. Personally I feel 15% is kind of low for a tip, but it’s just an example. I hope you tip more than 15% Codecademy lesson writers. With the Tip Calculator section being so short I pressed onto the next section.

Ahh now we’re getting somewhere. Super excited. Lets talk about strings and not the annoying pieces of thread that come off your favorite geeky t-shirt. Ok, well maybe I’m the only one with that problem.

In the String and Console Output section they taught what a string is, that it will have quotes around it, and what you can do with them. As I went through the exercises I made sure to take notes on anything that seemed unclear. Be sure to get answers to all those questions you might have. You can not build if the bottom layer of knowledge is shaky.

You don’t have an at the ready Python guru? Really? That’s ok, you can find plenty of help within the Python community. Places like the IRC channel, user groups, and other sources I’ve talked about them before. These resources really are fantastic ways to meet people who are doing what you want to be doing and they can help you out. Take advantage of this.

I completed the entire section which covered strings, string methods, dot notation, printing strings, printing variables, string concatenation, explicit string conversion, and string formatting with the % sign (which is actually an operator).

The end of the lesson had a review section to go over what was covered. This review of information is something I always look for when picking a resource for learning. Review is important, it cements ideas with repeating what was learned.

I’m now at a place where I have to stop and figure out how to take all these lessons and apply that knowledge. What can be done with all the things they have taught you. My next plan of action is to do just that. In my next post I’m going to cover exactly how I’m going to take this knowledge, along with my own interests, to build an application. The best plan I can think of is to solve a personal problem in a functional way. Think about all the times you’ve said to yourself, I wish there were an application for that.

This might feel a bit too soon for some, but I say it’s time to just jump in the ocean and do this, what’s the worse that can happen?

Shall We Play A Game?

Leave a Reply

