tech careers · tech jobs · technology

Snakes. Why’d it have to be snakes?

Being a geek isn’t required to work in tech but it sure does help.

What’s all this talk about snakes?

Well the first programming language I’ve chosen to cover is Python. If you’re interested in reading more about the language before we jump in, you can go to the Python wikipedia page here or to the Python Software Foundation here. It’s not mandatory to know every thing about what you are learning, but I would suggest at least taking a look. Extra knowledge is always welcome.

There are a few reasons why I’ve picked this particular language to start. First is I know people who are experts with it. Having access to people directly, ones that you feel comfortable asking questions is always a good thing. Now while I personally have access to these people I know many will not, which brings me to my next reason.

The second reason for my choice is the Python user groups. My local group (TriPython) has many amazing members, and they meet on the 4th Thursday of every month. User groups are a great resource for people who are learning a new language or even those who have a decent understanding but may have hit a wall with a problem. I’ll talk more about user groups in another post and why you should take the time to be part of them.

The third reason is because of the number of resources online to learn Python. I’m going to pick one, not because I want to promote them in particular, but because I personally have gone through a few of their classes online and I enjoy the format. If by the end of this first class in Python I don’t feel like I’ve gotten out of it what I should have I’ll take a class on a different site.

I want to give true personal experience with these classes. I want to explain what has worked, what hasn’t, and what can be done to make it better.

I guess it’s time to start. I have all ready created an account for Codecademy and I’ve picked Python.

Codecademy rates this course as beginner level and that it takes about 13 hours to complete.

Over the next week or so I’ll be taking the course and write my experiences with it. I’ll also include any extra help I needed to enlist. I will take advantage of all the Python resources online available to me such as the user group I mentioned before, the IRC channel, and email. I will include more information about the IRC channel and user group in my new few posts.

*I do realize that Python was named by Guido van Rossum as a reference to Monty Python’s Flying Circus.

One thought on “Snakes. Why’d it have to be snakes?

  1. Good luck Stacy! Python is an excellent first choice. Codecademy is a good way to start, too. You might be interested in checking out these resources, as well – they were helpful for me when I was learning Python:

    http://www.trypython.org — an interactive Python tutorial that teaches you by having you type commands into an online Python interpreter and letting you see the results. Fast and gratifying.

    http://learnpythonthehardway.org — guides you through the process of writing and running Python programs on your own computer. Surprisingly fun! One of the last things you do is write a simple text adventure game.

Leave a Reply

